Ravenous #Review: Wanted by Jo Ho

Wanted (Chase Ryder, #1)Title:  Wanted

Series: Chase Ryder

Series Number: #1

Author: Jo Ho

Genre: Young Adult Sci-Fi

Publisher: Jo Ho

Publication Date: November 4, 2016

Format: Ebook

Pages: 392

Rating: 5

5 wings

Heart spacer

Blurb From Goodreads:

TO THEM, HE WAS AN EXPERIMENT
TO HER, HE WAS FAMILY

The first time I saw him, I had no idea he was created in a lab.

I’d been living on the streets for around eight months before I lost count. It wasn’t easy, but it was still preferable to what I had to deal with at home. In all that time, unable to trust anyone, I had been alone (I knew from experience that people always failed you). Then one day, while out searching for food, I stumbled upon this mangy dog being attacked.

It wasn’t a big deal to help him, but then he ended up saving my life which is when I realized there was something special about him: Muttface wasn’t a normal dog – he was crazy intelligent. I’m talking Mensa levels. And he wasn’t an accident either, having recently escaped from a mysterious lab.

We were just getting to know each other when things took a bloody turn.

The vet, Sully, a troubled guy who had recently lost his wife to cancer, did what he could and I guess that would’ve been the end of our story if we hadn’t been attacked by a gang of mercenaries who destroyed Sully’s clinic and seemed intent on doing the same to us.

So now here we were, the three of us. On the run across the country against a powerful enemy. Who were they and what did they want with us?

Through the danger, terror, and pain, one thing was becoming clear to me: I had finally found the family I had always wanted and I would do anything to keep them safe…

Even if it meant risking my own life.

Goodreads orange Amazon US orange Amazon UK orange Amazon CA orange

Heart spacer

My Review:

First off, be sure to read the author note in the beginning. Going from screen writer to author isn’t easy. That being said, this book was awesome! There were times when it changed from first person to third but other than that, one of the best written books of the year. Granted, this is my opinion but I LOVE detail and this book had it in spades, but not to the point where it was nauseating or boring. The characters seemed so real and had so much depth that now that I’ve finished the book I feel their loss in my life. There really wasn’t anyone I couldn’t relate with, even the bad guy. Totally understood what he was trying to do and why, but I still couldn’t condone it. It’s not often a book comes along like this and I’m so glad I decided to read it. And the fact that it’s a series, I plan on reading them all!

Heart spacer

Author Bio:

Jo Ho I’m a self-taught, award-winning British screenwriter and director who gained my first broadcast credit when I created and wrote one of CBBC’s most ambitious productions in history, the action packed-fantasy, SPIRIT WARRIORS starring Jessica Henwick (GAME OF THRONES, STAR WARS: THE FORCE AWAKENS and Marvel’s upcoming IRON FIST) and Benedict Wong (DOCTOR STRANGE, MARCO POLO). The show was the UK’s first TV drama series to star a predominately East Asian cast, with myself the first Chinese person to have created a UK drama series.

Known for my high concept genre work, I have developed a number of original television series including a medieval action adventure for acclaimed producers Morgan O’Sullivan and James Flynn (THE BORGIAS, VIKINGS, PENNY DREADFUL), a US genre show for Rick Porras (THE LORD OF THE RINGS trilogy) and Gary Pearl (JANE THE VIRGIN), and an action fantasy drama for OSCAR nominated producer, Meta Louise Foldager Sorensen (A ROYAL AFFAIR, MELANCHOLIA). I also have several original screenplays in development including supernatural thriller, BLOODLINES, family fantasy, SKETCH, and CHINA BLUES, a comedy drama, funded by CREATIVE ENGLAND.

In 2010, I was named Winner of the Women In Film and Television’s ‘NEW TALENT’ Award. I was also nominated for CDN’s ‘BEST BREAKTHROUGH PRODUCTION TALENT’ Award, with Spirit Warriors in the running for ‘BEST CHILDREN’S PROGRAMME’ at 2011′s Broadcast Award’s. I was also named one of the Top Ten Outstanding Young Chinese People in the UK, and presented with the Big Ben Award for ‘OUTSTANDING ACHIEVEMENT BY A CHINESE WOMAN IN THE UK FILM AND TELEVISION INDUSTRY’.

In addition to writing, I also direct. My first short film Isolation 9 won best film at the Buffalo San Film Festival. I followed this up with Monkey Nut Tales which was chosen by Film London for their prestigious PULSE strand. The short film debuted at the Times BFI London Film Festival.

Wanted, Book 1 of The Chase Ryder Series is my first novel.

images Facebook 2 imgres

Heart spacer

Posted

Facebook Twitter Tumblr GoodReads

DON’T FORGET TO FOLLOW OUR BLOG.

Some of the greatest

.

Leave a Reply

