Bombastic #BookBlitz: Because The Night by Kristen Strassel

Because the Night
Kristen Strassel
(Night Songs Collection #1)
Publication date: April 1st 2017
Genres: New Adult, Urban Fantasy

Sex, blood, and rock n’ roll.

Immortal Dilemma is the hottest show on the Las Vegas Strip, and Tristan Trevosier is their biggest star. But to me, he’s the guy who broke my heart and then showed up on stage claiming to be a vampire.

Now I fear it might be true.

The true darkness of Tristan’s world terrifies me, but when I end up chasing after a vampire, dating his enemy, and hunted by his creator, I realize the only person who will get me into trouble—is me.

Goodreads / Amazon / iBooks / Kobo

EXCERPT:

“Drop me off at the Alta Vista.”

“What?” Janelle slammed on the brakes, and cars swerved to avoid us on the highway.

“Don’t kill us. Just drop me at the Alta Vista.”

She drove normal again. “You don’t want to do that. Give Blade a day or two to cool down.”

It wouldn’t be enough. He wouldn’t be able to look at me and forget about this night. And neither would I.

“Please, drop me off at the hotel.” Maybe using manners would make her think it was a better idea.

“Do you want me to come with you?”

Even money if she wanted to keep me from doing something stupid or if she wanted photographic proof of it happening. I wasn’t totally sure what my plan was yet, either.

“No.”  So far, it didn’t involve a chaperone.

Janelle didn’t try to change my mind. This was the most we’d talked in a couple of weeks. She went the back way, avoiding traffic. “It’s the employee entrance,” she explained. “You’ll get in easier this way.”

Finally, some insider info that benefited me. She didn’t drive off right away when I got out of the car. My mouth went dry, and for a second, I considered if the vampires were using Blade as bait against me. If they had, it worked. I was here.

I maneuvered through the throngs of ever-present fans. Speculation swirled around me as I passed, and I wondered if any of them had been at Blade’s show. A couple of them were dressed in broomstick skirts and china doll shoes like I always wore, but of course, in black. Despite having the night from hell, that gave me something to smile about. Maybe I could influence good taste around here.

Two security guards flanked the backstage door. “Can you tell me where to find Tony?” I could have called Tristan, but that night, I thought it was better to show up unannounced.

“Sure, you and the rest of the women in the building who watch the show.”

“He knows who I am.” I wondered how many other women before me tried the same thing that night.

“Of course he does, sweetheart. No can do.”

I seethed at sweetheart.

“She’s telling the truth,” the other guard said. “She’s Tristan’s girlfriend.”

“What the hell would she being doing out here?”

For once being splashed all over Janelle’s website worked in my favor. “Why don’t we let Tony decide what to do?”

The older guard gave in and mumbled into his walkie. Minutes later, Tony arrived.

“Hi, Callie.” Tony’s eyebrows rose when he saw who had called for him.

“Hi.” I needed to ratchet the charm up to ten. “If I asked you to bring me to see Tristan, do you think you could do that?”

“Is he expecting you?” he asked.

“Not that I know of.”

“Shall I announce you?”

“No.” I was getting my way, I maneuvered past the guards, and the older one rolled his eyes. “I’ll take care of that.”

“Ten four on the boss,” he called into the walkie. Once he got a reply, he led me through the maze of hallways at Sin City Vampire Club. I let my speech play over in my head as I followed him.

Tony stopped at a closed door. The party roared behind it. “Good luck, Callie.”

I held my breath when I opened the door. If I could remember all the details from the night I got Venom wasted, I’d know what to expect. A cluster of women gathered around each of the band members. Some already had blood dripping from their necks. Tristan was no exception, sprawled out on a couch, bottle in hand, surrounded by half-naked women. Two of them sat in his lap, kissing.

Tristan watched them, licking his lips. It stung to see how easily he’d moved on, but I couldn’t be mad, about that anyway. I’d done the same thing.

I stood at the edge of the couch, waiting for the spectacle to end, my gaze fixed on Tristan. I’d been really frigging pissed when I left the Shotgun Saloon, and the speech I’d rehearsed while I followed Tony here seemed like nonsense now. The girls separated, and his expression changed as our gazes locked. His mouth curled into a smile, and my grand plan of giving him a piece of my mind went to shit.

All the girls turned to see what he was looking at. “What the hell is she doing here?” one of them asked.

“Isn’t it a little past your bedtime?” another said.

I ignored them both. “Can you talk?”

He put his hand on the girls’ shoulders as they were about to start making out again. They protested, but they leaned back so he could get up. I sucked in a breath. His hair was wild like he’d just got out of bed, and his eyes were on fire. I’d swear they glowed red. He held his hand out to me. “Let’s go.”

“Tristan! You’ll miss all the good stuff.” one of the girls called out.

He glanced over his shoulder. “No, I won’t,” he said to me, his smile wicked, so similar to the look Blade had given me just hours before. Before he walked out on me.

Tristan had wanted me all along.

Once we were away from the party, I stopped and pushed Tristan against the wall. His kiss tasted of that poisonous vanilla; patchouli and smoke drifted from his hair. I ran my hands up his arms, digging my fingernails into his skin, and moved my tongue carefully around his sharp teeth.

“What’s gotten into you?” He pulled away from me, licking the taste of me off his swollen lips.

I’d grill him about what happened at Blade’s show later. “I changed my mind.”” I went in for another kiss but he stopped me.

His gaze raked over my body, and I forgot about the cold that radiated from his body. “That dress is amazing,” he said.

“Thanks.”

“Let’s go upstairs,” he whispered, his lips tickling my ear. “It’s past your bedtime.”

BTN TEASER NEW 4

Author Bio:

**Sign up for Kristen’s newsletter at http://www.kristenstrassel.com/news/ on the right-hand side of the page.**

It all started one Fourth of July after a hair band show and a few drinks. I had a dream about a girl trying to make her way in Las Vegas that was so vivid I actually moved there to try to write a book about it. It took me almost ten years and a move back to Boston to get it done, but that dream became Because The Night. My love of dark paranormal books and the biographies of 60’s and 70’s rock stars inspired my writing style. I write a lot, but when I’m not doing that I can probably be found on a movie set doing makeup. I also love making my house look like a Pinterest board, cooking, watching football, and traveling. I live with my cockatiel, McGee, and I’m always in search of the next happily ever after.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter

GIVEAWAY!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1

Heart spacer

Follow Me

Facebook Twitter Tumblr ♥ GoodReads 

Don’t forget to follow our blog.

Leave a Reply

