Bombastic #BookBlitz: The Story Of Us by D. Nichole King

The Story of Us
D. Nichole King
Publication date: February 9th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance

Moments.

Every life is made of thousands of them, each one strung together with the next. Some are yellow and happy, some are blue and sad, and some…

Some wipe out color altogether.

“I love you,” is what I should have told Maverick.

“I’m sorry.”

“I’m still fighting.”

Instead I just watched him leave.

Now my husband, my everything is battling for each breath, and all I can do is stare at the machines as the clock ticks off precious minutes.

The doctors said the first twenty-four hours are critical—but every moment is critical.

You never know which will be your last.

This is our story, and I’m not ready for it to end.

Goodreads / Amazon

EXCERPT:

I admire my new purchase in the full-length mirror in the bathroom. It arrived in the mail a few days ago. The skimpy black bra barely covers me, and the matching thong makes my butt look more plump than flat. My favorite piece is the skin-tight, all-lace chemise that covers the bra and underwear. Maverick is going to love it.

I brush through my hair until I’m satisfied with the style. In ten minutes it won’t matter how it looks, nor will I care.

Through the ajar door, I see Maverick lying on our bed. He has his glasses on, the light of his phone keeping him awake as he scrolls through his notifications.

I flip off the bathroom light and pad into our room. As soon as I do, his eyes flick up and run the length of my body.

He takes off his glasses. “That’s hot as fuck.”

“I don’t get that phrase. How is fuck hot?”

Maverick chuckles. He gets out of bed and saunters to me. He grabs me around the waist, tosses me over his shoulder, and squeezes my butt cheek. I yelp.

“You’ll get it once I have you panting and moaning,” he says.

He dumps me onto the bed, the desire in his gaze turning to red. It’s a color I haven’t seen in him for a while, but tonight it burns a blazing scarlet.

He makes love to me, the scarlet darkening, then becoming lighter, slipping into amber. The amber morphs into honey after we climax, and he smiles at me. A sweet kiss lands on my lips and we’re cuddling, surrounded by his outpouring of cobalt that cocoons me in tranquility.

“I love you, Mrs. Tavare,” he murmurs.

I glide my fingers over his chest, enjoying how my gentle strokes on his skin makes my heart flutter.

“Will you love me in a few months when you’ve been worked into a coma?” I ask.

“Yes, I’ll still love you.”

“How about when we have kids and I’m too tired to do my hair or put on make-up and have gained forty pounds?”

“You’ll be more beautiful than you are now, and, if it’s possible, I’ll love you even more.”

“When I’m all gray and wrinkly and my boobs hang down to my knees?”

Maverick chuckles. “Will I still be able to play with those boobs?”

“They’ll be like accordions. You’ll have to scrunch them up into your hands.”

“But I can play with them, right?”

“If you can reach them, then you can play with them.”

“Yep. Even then you’ll be mine.”

“What if something horrible happens, Mav?” I ask, turning serious. I rise up on my elbows and peer into his eyes.

“Like what?”

“What if I go blind? Or have to have my arm amputated? Or am confined to a wheelchair?”

Maverick threads his fingers through my hair, gently combing through it. “You’ll still be mine, Jellysnack.”

I bite my lip. The words are swimming around in my head, urging me to say them. It’s Maverick, my Maverick, and I already know the answer. Still, I need to hear him say it. “What if I die or you die? What will happen then?”

“Nothing. No matter what happens, you’ll always be mine.”

Pretty couple in the meadow on the sunset background

Author Bio:

d. Nichole King was born with a book in her hand. During her school years, she’d hide books inside textbooks, read during recess, changing classes, and while walking home from school. She wrote her first book at the age of 11, and the re-worked version of that book is her debut novel, LOVE ALWAYS, KATE.

Her YA urban fantasy series, THE SPIRIT TRILOGY, along with her NA contemporary series, LOVE ALWAYS, was acquired by Limitless Publishing and includes a total of six books. BREAKING THROUGH, an NA science-fiction romance, is her first self-published novel.

d. Nichole King currently resides in a small town in Iowa with her supportive husband, four amazing kids, a dog, a cat, a fish, and a turtle.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter

GIVEAWAY!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1

Heart spacer

Follow Me

Facebook Twitter Tumblr ♥ GoodReads 

Don’t forget to follow our blog.

Leave a Reply

