Ravenous #Review: Lost In Wonderland by Nicky Peacock

Lost in Wonderland (The Twisted and the Brave, #1)Title: Lost In Wonderland

Series: The Twisted and the Brave

Series Number: #1

Author: Nicky Peacock

Genre: NA Horror/Urban Fantasy

Publisher: Evernight Teen

Publication Date: April 14, 2016

Format: Ebook

Pages: 124

Rating: 4

Please note that I received a complimentary copy of this work and chose to write a review.

4 wings

Heart spacer

Blurb From Goodreads:

Monsters, serial killers, and imaginary friends—being a Wonderlander can be murder…

Once upon a time, Kayla was lost. Then she found Wonderland, but not the one you know. Run by ex-government agents and funded by an eccentric Silicon Valley billionaire, this Wonderland is the name of a collective of highly trained vigilantes who hunt serial killers. Now Kayla, aka Mouse, works tirelessly alongside her fellow Wonderlanders, Rabbit and Cheshire, baiting dangerous murderers. But even her extensive training hasn’t prepared her for the return of her older brother…

Shilo has spent most of his life in an insane asylum, convinced his mother was abducted by a sinister Alaskan monster who lures the lost away to feast upon their flesh. And now he’s certain that his sister is in the same monster’s crosshairs. But if Shilo is going to save what’s left of his family, he’ll have to convince his sister that maybe, just maybe, we’re all a little mad.

Goodreads orange  Amazon US orange  Amazon UK orange  Amazon CA orange  B&N orange  Kobo orange

Heart spacer

My Review:

Wow, there was so much to this I’m not even sure what genre to put it in LOL. Really interesting though, there’s some paranormal and most of it doesn’t come to light until the very end. There are constant hints but at first it’s a horror thriller story but as it continues you start to wonder, is this urban fantasy, paranormal, WTF am I reading??!! If you completely ignore the genre identity crisis I’m having and decide to read the book or have read the book I would LOVE to know what genre you attach to it LOL. And it’s somewhat of a mix between YA and NA but that’s no biggie to me. Anyway, I loved how Wonderland and many of the characters from Alice In Wonderland were in this story but other than names and maybe a few characteristics this isn’t a “retelling”. Wonderland is the secret organization and the code names are the characters from Alice In Wonderland. I do look forward to reading more of this series.

Heart spacer

Author Bio:

NP 04a smallI guess I’ve always been a storyteller, not in a ‘liar liar pants on fire’ kind of way, although I do work in advertising! When I was little, kids would crowd around me in the playground and I’d tell them tales of blood soaked horror filled with vampires, werewolves, ghosts and more. Yes, most would consider me a disturbed child, but my playmates couldn’t help themselves, they’d huddle around me every break time like an ancient tribe feeding off the fear; and that’s how I learned that horror stories hold a certain power, no matter what some might say, everyone is addicted to a good scare, especially if it is somewhat rooted safely in unrealistic beings… or are they unrealistic?

Writing was really a natural progression for me. So far I’ve had 35 short stories included in anthologies produced by publishers all over the world; my latest was included in Little Brown Book Group’s Mammoth Book of Jack the Ripper Stories. I have two YA series with the publishers, Evernight Teen: Battle of the Undead and The Twisted and The Brave. 

I run a local adult writers’ group called Creative Minds Writing and have been asked by my local library (Corby, Northants, UK) to run a group for budding authors aged 13-25.

Creative Minds Writing Website

YA Creative Corby for 13-25 year olds

images  imgres  Facebook 2

Heart spacer

Follow Me

Facebook Twitter Tumblr ♥ GoodReads 

Don’t forget to follow our blog.

Leave a Reply

