#Review – Class Zero by Y.A Marks

Class Zero coverTitle: Class Zero

Series: Class Zero

Series Number: #1

Author: Y.A. Marks

Genre: YA Sci-fi/Dystopian

Publisher: Sugarstone Publishing

Publication Date: May 23,2016

Format: Ebook

Pages: 247

Rating: 5

Please note that I received a complimentary copy of this work in exchange for an honest review.

5 wings

png-1099386_960_720

Blurb From Goodreads:

I’m sixteen. I’m p*ss poor, and I steal to eat. Me? My life is great.

In my brilliance, I “adopted” two hungry orphans. When I’m not with them, I avoid every human being I can, trying to keep the kids safe and protected. It’s pretty easy to do because half the country lives in abject poverty.

A week ago, I treated myself to a cup of coffee, and ran into a mysterious boy with intense gray eyes. After a security drone worth billions blew up above my head, he chased me down to simply tell me that “change was coming.”

“What?”

When I got back to the homeless shelter, where I live, guess what was on TV? Me and the gray-eyed idiot who happened to have half his face covered. Unfortunately, I wasn’t so lucky.

Oh, but there’s more! The government, which shoots first and asks questions later, not only think that I’m a part of a rebel organization that they’ve been trying to eradicate for the last seven years, they actually believe that I’m the leader.
I could stop there with joy, but unfortunately the government kidnapped the two orphans—my two orphans. That’s when they really started to tick…me…off.

unnamed  Amazon US  Amazon UK  Amazon CA

 

png-1099386_960_720

My Review:

Warning, you will need tissues for this! What’s scary is that other than the technology, we aren’t that far off from living this way. People are “tagged” and monitored along with getting or being denied access to certain areas based on that tag. Everyone is so focused on themselves that even children, who’ve been orphaned for whatever reason, end up being homeless aren’t treated any differently than a common criminal.

I loved Paeton! She’s sixteen yet avoids other teenagers because they always seem to be getting in trouble and she does not need that. As you get to know her more, you find out that she wants to be just a regular teenage girl. She wants nice clothes, get her nails painted, have her first kiss, the normal teenage worries. Being orphaned at the age of 9, she had that life, but not anymore. Along come Rylan and all sorts of bad things start happening and all she wants to do is survive and keep two other, younger, orphans safe.

There is a cliffhanger but it won’t leave you screaming. It’s just more of a “so what’s happening now that this has happened” type of thing. I look forward to reading the next book to find out!

png-1099386_960_720

Follow Me

Facebook Twitter GoodReads 

Don’t forget to follow our blog.

Some of the greatest

 

Leave a Reply

